Welcome!

by

This is the official blog of the Society for Barefoot Living.

The Society for Barefoot Living is an organization of people who love going barefoot pretty much everywhere, all the time.

The purpose of this blog is to point out and comment upon issues or stories impacting barefooters. We’ll also use it to provide information helpful to those who might like to try more serious barefooting.

So, for now, welcome!

8 Responses to “Welcome!”

  1. Alberto Guimaraes Says:

    Peace and Good!
    I am already a SBL member, since 2006, but over and above SBL forum I think this ‹‹blog›› very useful!
    Greetings!
    Sincerely yours
    Alberto
    Braga – Portugal

  2. Tom Burhoe Says:

    Glad to see a blog for SBL

    Tom Burhoe

  3. Marcelo Viseu Says:

    I’m glad to see that too!!! I’m a SBL member since 2000 this blog will keep us much more in contact.

    Congratulations to all members…

    Marcelo from Rio de Janeiro, Brasil.

  4. Jake Karlson Says:

    I am surprised by the number of web sites, blogs, news reports, etc. that are aimed at “barefoot shoes.” When you do a search on the internet, you run across tons of these sites! Come on, guys. “Barefoot shoes” is the biggest oxymoron I have heard in quite some time.

    All of these sites start off telling about the virtues of going barefoot, then try to sell you Vibram five fingers or some such crap.

    Anyone think that the shoe companies are trying to sucker barefooters into buying shoes? (Shoes for barefooting!? I don’t think so!)

  5. Kriss Sands Says:

    I’m sure shoe companies would love to sucker barefooters into buying shoes (not likely to happen), but I think the biggest thing they have in mind is those folks who are starting to find out that barefooting is the best thing for healthy feet and a healthy body in general. Articles on the virtues of going barefoot, especially barefoot running, seem to be coming out all the time recently, and the shoe companies have certainly taken notice and obviously are trying to turn this into something that will profit them. There’s no such thing as “barefoot shoes,” regardless of whatever spin the shoe companies might put on it. Shoes are shoes, regardless of how “barefoot-like” the may claim to be.

  6. Jason Scanlon Says:

    Thank you for saying something!! I thought I was going crazy, reading about all this “minimalist shoe” nonsense. A minimalist shoe is still a SHOE, for goodness sake! I’m glad I’m not the only one that thinks this way.

    Also, I’m very happy to see this blog. I’ll be checking it frequently! Thanks to all involved!

  7. Paul Says:

    What happened to the Dirty Sole Society?

  8. Bob Neinast Says:

    We changed the name to the Society for Barefoot Living back in mid-2001.

Comments are closed.


