Plus ça change, plus c’est la même chose

by

From 1974:

Dear Ann Landers:

I’m a male high school student, age 18, and I happen to enjoy kicking off my shoes and going barefoot. I never wear shoes when I’m at home and I remove them often when I’m in public.

I can’t explain why, but I really get turned on running barefoot across parks and lawns, especially on rainy summer days when people are walking their dogs. I know this isn’t everyone’s bag, but it happens to be mine.

What I can’t understand is the hostility that some people show to my lifestyle. I’ve been reprimanded several time because of this. One teacher telephones my mother to discuss “the problem.”

I think it’s ridiculous. After all, who am I hurting? I graduate in June and I would love to walk up on the stage in my stocking feet and receive my diploma. What kind of reaction do you think it would create? — Shoeless Joe

Dear Joe:

After the streaking that’s gone on all over the country, a guy in stocking feet wouldn’t even be noticed.

Enjoy yourself, Bub, but don’t step on any glass, rusty nails, or whatever people might step on in parks where dogs are walked.

