A Nice Fall Hike

by

I do a lot of hiking, and today was just so gorgeous . . .

I ended up going to Hocking Hills, and decided to do a bit of bushwacking around. If you are not familiar with the area, there a a bunch of really nice sandstone cliffs, make up of what is called “Blackhand Sandstone.” This sandstone is well-cemented near the top, and well-cemented about 100 feet lower down, but the stuff in the middle is rather crumbly. So a lot of what are called “recess caves” are formed, and they are the main feature of Hocking Hills. I started out parking at Conkles Hollow State Nature Preserve and walked along the west rim to get to where I was headed: Burgoon Hollow. I bushwacked down into the Hollow, taking pictures of just what the formations were (I’d never been there before).

The cool thing about doing it barefooted (aside from all the usual benefits) is when one has to climb back out. That’s were toes come in extremely handily. The hollow walls are pretty step, and toes are just perfect for grabbing into the soil for a very good grip.

Here is one of the recess caves in Burgoon Hollow (on its west side). I went by it as I was climbing out of the hollow:

Lower Cave

Lower Cave in Burgoon Hollow

(You’ll easily see that I stitched together two photos I took. I need better software.)

Farther up the slope (up to the right there) there was yet another small recess cave:

Upper Cave

Upper Cave in Burgoon Hollow

Really, really fun.

I then hiked around a bit more, and ended up back at Conkles Hollow, where this time I took the trail on the east rim. Here is what things looked like today looking south towards the entrance to Conkles Hollow:

Conkles Hollow

Conkles Hollow

Just goes to show: bare feet are just fine for all sorts of hiking.

2 Responses to “A Nice Fall Hike”

  1. Beach Bum Says:

    Just don’t do that in Utah State Parks and try to enter any of their buildings while barefoot:

    http://static.stateparks.utah.gov/docs/ParkRules&Regulations.pdf

    Rule R651-625. Shirts and Shoes
    R651-625-1. Shirts and Shoes Required in Museums, Visitor Centers and Administrative Offices
    Persons without shirts and/or shoes are prohibited from entering museums, visitor centers
    and administrative offices of the park system.

    I wonder what their excuse is? Definitely cannot be for liability, since everything about the outdoor wilderness is much more dangerous than being inside one of those buildings. And both the buildings and wilderness are part of the same park system.

  2. Bob Neinast Says:

    Beach Bum,

    I suspect that when it comes right down to it, their excuse would be, “it’s just not proper.” Because, as you say, the liability excuse would just be their lie-ability.

Comments are closed.


